Texas High School
​Football History

To navigate this site at this time, you will need to hit the backward key to return to this page and then click on the next image you want to view. This should be only a temporary inconvenience.  ​​​​CONTACT US: hsfbnut@aol.com
Records of public schools and individuals compiled by historian Joe Lee Smith 
Entire website copyright, C 2012, TexasHighSchoolFootballHistory.com. All material within this site is protected and all rights are reserved.  The wholesale publishing of any copyrighted material is prohibited without written permission.​

  Updated records through the 2012 football season are posted and volumes of new material have been added for viewing.
  The biggest addition as of August 30, 2013 is season-by-season records of thousands of U.I.L. 11-man head football coaches.  You can now check the record of any coach to learn about his career.
  All-Time team and individual records are also updated through the 2012 campaign.​​​


    We are especially pleased to make the season-by-season records of each U.I.L. head football coach available.​  This is the first time ​for such information to become public in this format.
    It is very interesting to follow the careers of coaches from the early 1900s to the modern day. Today, many teams can play 11 to 16 games per season due to the current playoff system.  Also, there are ​10 state champions in the five 11-man classifications.​
​    Prior to 1982, only one team per district advanced to the playoffs and now there are three to four teams per district.​​​​​ ​ Class 1A teams did not
begin playing for state championships until 1972.
       If you have verifying information, we welcome any correction or addition regarding any team, individual or coaches record.​​​​


History Making Coaches

​​​***Jewel Wallace is the only UIL coach to win state championships in basketball and football.  His El Paso High team nabbed the 1941 cage title and he captured grid crowns at San Angelo (1943) and SA Jefferson (1949, Big City Conference).

***Chuck York (Brady, 1959) and sons, Toby 
(Cameron, 1981) and Todd (Corrigan-Camden,
2002) represent the only family to collect state
football championships.

***Gordon Wood and G.A. Moore, Jr. each copped state football trophies in four seperate decades.  Wood​ won two at Stamford in the 1950s, four in the 1960s, two in the 1970s, and a 1981 title ​​​​​​---all at Brownwood. Moore picked up one at Celina in 1974, a pair with Pilot Point (1980, 1981), three more with Celina in the 1990s and another pair with the Bobcats in 2000, 2001. 

***Pete Shotwell and Terry Cron are the only mentors to win championships at three schools. Shotwell did it at the highest level at Abilene (1923),Breckenridge (1929) and Longview (1937).  ​Cron collected his prizes with Bartlett (1992, 1A), Mart (1999, 2A) and Commerce (2001, 3A).​​​​​​